Jump to main content keyboard shortcut 2 Jump to navigation menu keyboard shortcut 1 Jump to search keyboard shortcut 5

FOCUS


Published 11.09.23

IGF 2023: Children’s and young people’s rights

Marlene Fasolt, SDC

The 18th Internet Governance Forum (IGF) meeting will be hosted by the Government of Japan in Kyoto in a hybrid format from 8 to 12 October 2023. The theme of this year’s IGF is "The Internet We Want - Empowering All People". Representatives from business, science and civil society will meet with high-ranking government representatives from all over the world and address the following topics in various event formats:

  • AI & Emerging Technologies
  • Avoiding Internet Fragmentation
  • Cybersecurity, Cybercrime & Online Safety
  • Data Governance & Trust
  • Digital Divides & Inclusion
  • Global Digital Governance & Cooperation
  • Human Rights & Freedoms
  • Sustainability & Environment

Many sessions at this year’s IGF will cover the topic of children’s and young people’s rights to protection, empowerment and participation in the digital environment.

We have put together a list of the sessions that will cover aspects of children and young people growing up in a digital environment. This way you can decide which parts of the program are of interest to you. All sessions are designed to actively involve participants, whether they are on-site or online.

Registration is required to attend the IGF. It is recommended that you register in good time before the start of the event. You will receive a confirmation that entitles you to access the on-site events and the digital Zoom meetings.

IGF-Sessions on "Growing up in a digital environment":

Sunday 8.10.2023:

11:15-12:15 JST (4:15 - 5:15 CET, 2:15-3:15 UTC), Workshop Room 6, IGF 2023 Day 0 Event #16 Youth participation: co-creating the Insafe network

13:30-15:00 JST (=6:30-8:00 CET, 4:30-6:00 UTC), Workshop Room 1, IGF 2023 Global Youth Summit

Monday 9.10.2023:

16:30-18:00 JST (=9:30-11:00 CET, 7:30-9:00 UTC), Workshop Room 5, IGF 2023 WS #495 Next-Gen Education: Harnessing Generative AI

17:45-18:45 JST (=10:45-11:45 CET, 8:45-9:45 UTC), Workshop Room 3, IGF 2023 WS #255 Digital Me: Being youth, women, and/or gender-diverse online

Tuesday 10.10.2023:

9:45-10:45 JST (=2:45-3:45 CET, 00:45-01:45 UTC), Workshop Room 1, IGF 2023 WS #72 Defence against the DarkWeb Arts: Youth Perspective

13:30-15:00 JST (=6:30-8:00 CET, 4:30-6:00 UTC), Workshop Room 4, IGF 2023 WS #469 AI & Child Rights: Implementing UNICEF Policy Guidance

16:45-17:45 JST (=9:45-10:45 CET, 7:45-8:45 UTC), Workshop Room 8, IGF 2023 Open Forum #15 Protecting children online with emerging technologies

17:00-18:30 JST (=10:00-11:30 CET, 8:00-9:30 UTC), Workshop Room 4, IGF 2023 WS #403 Safe Digital Futures for Children: Aligning Global Agendas

18:00-19:00 JST (=11:00-12:00 CET, 9:00-10:00 UTC)Workshop Room 8, IGF 2023 Open Forum #58 Child online safety: Industry engagement and regulation

Wednesday 11.10.2023:

8:30-9:30 JST (=1:30-2:30 CET, 11:30-00:30 UTC) Workshop Room 8, IGF 2023 Open Forum #52 RITEC: Prioritizing Child Well-Being in Digital Design

11:00-12:30 JST (=04:00-05:30 CET, 02:00-03:30 UTC), Workshop Room 3, IGF 2023 WS #501 Children’s digital rights: overcoming regional inequalities

11:30-12:30 JST (=4:30-5:30 CET, 2:30-3:30 UTC), Workshop Room 9, IGF 2023 Networking Session #64 Worldwide Web of Youth: Cooperation for Enlightenment

13:00-14:30 JST (=6:00-7:30 CET, 4:00-5:30 UTC), Workshop Room 11, IGF 2023 DCCOS Risk, opportunity and child safety in the age of AI

13:00-14:30 JST (=6:00-7:30 CET, 4:00-5:30 UTC), Workshop Room 2, IGF 2023 WS #559 Harnessing AI for Child Protection

14:15-15:15 JST (=7:15-8:15 CET, 5:15-6:15 UTC), Workshop Room 8, IGF 2023 Open Forum #86 Child participation online: policymaking with children

17:30-19:00 JST (=10:00-11:30 CET, 08:00-09:30 UTC), Workshop Room 4, IGF 2023 WS #62 Data Protection for Next Generation: Putting Children First

17:30-18:30 JST (=10:30-11:30 CET, 8:30-9:30 UTC), Workshop Room 5, IGF 2023 WS #417 Youth-Driven Tech: Empowering Next-Gen Innovators

Thursday 12.10.2023:

14:00-15:30 JST (=7:00-8:30 CET, 5:00-6:30 UTC), Plenary Hall, Dynamic Coalitions Main Session: The Internet We Want - Human Rights in the digital space to accelerate the SDGs